Guam Information

Capital of Guam

Hagatna Guam
Hagatna is the capital of Guam. It is located in the center of the island and is part of the Kattan (Eastern) District. The village’s name comes from the word ‘haga’, which means blood. This village was established by families and relatives with shared bloodlines. The Spaniards designated Hagatna as the island’s capital, making it a village. Hagatna is home to places named after saints, as the city is the seat of
the island’s religion, Catholicism. The three branches of government – Judicial, Legislative, and Executive – are also located here. Additionally, it is the center of commercial activity, with legal offices, banks, department and variety stores, insurance, technical and professional services, and recreation facilities.