Three stone arches which formed the entrance to the
Almacen (or arsenal) at the Plaza de Espana
An important and picturesque element of what remains of
the Spanish influence on Guam are the three stone arches which formed
the main entrance to a building, the Almacen or arsenal.
The Almacen was built in 1736. The Spaniards
stored munitions on the first level while the second floor served as a
soldiers barracks and later as a hospital. When the Americans
took over, the first floor was utilized as the pay master's office and
the post office. Use of the second level as a hospital and
barracks continued until it was converted into classrooms. In
1930, the Almacen was declared unsafe and subsequently demolished.
The Governor's Garden, Siesta Shed, and Fountain replaced the Almacen
At the rear of the garden near the wall is the original
stone floor of the Almacen. The floor was covered with earth
when the garden was built but has been partially excavated during
The original carved Spanish crest is incorporated into
the keystone on the front of the central arch.
to Plaza de Espana or